Press "Enter" to skip to content

Bhairahawa Gladiators into EPL play-off

KATHMANDU — Bhairahawa Gladiators has secured its place in the play-off of the Everest Premier League (EPL) T-20 Cricket Tournament, with a seven wickets win over Pokhara Rhinos on Monday.

Sharad Vesawkar’s Gladiators bundled out Pokhara Rhinos for 108 in 18.3 overs.

Gladiators have now acquired six points from four matches to stay at the second position in the six-team contest. Gladiators became second team to do so along with table topper Biratnagar Warriors.

Rhinos won the toss and chose to bat before making a total of 108 runs losing all the wickets in 18.3 overs at the Tribhuvan University Cricket Ground in Kirtipur. In reply, Gladiators reached to 110-3 in 17.4 overs.

Opener Israrullah was the top scorer for the Pokhara-based side with 40-ball 41, while his partner Sunil Dhamala made 15 runs off 16 balls. Likewise, Asif Ali (10) and Nurdhoj Sen (7) were the other notable contributors, while Binod Bhandari and Rajesh Pulami Magar failed to add any run.

Gladiators’ captain Sharad Vesawkar, Dipesh Shrestha, and Krishna Karki claimed two wickets each to restrict Rhinos for low score. Similarly, , Harishankar Shah, Aarif Sheikh, Pratham Salunkeand and Punit Mishra added one wicket each in Gladiators’ account.

Gladiators’ openers Pradip Singh Airee and Pratham Salunke creating just a seven-run partnership for the first wicket. Airee was dismissed for two runs while Salunke Managedto made 12-ball 25 that included six boundaries.

Vesawkar tried to rescue the innings by smashing 32 runs in 37 deliveries, while unbeaten Aarif Sheikh made 47-ball 48 with three sixes and three boundaries.

Earlier in the first match of the day, Biratnagar Warriors registered an eight-run win over Kathmandu Kings XI. The unbeaten side, Warriors, has now 10 points from five matches to stay at top of the table comfortably.

Winning team Biratnagar Warriors was invited for batting after losing the toss and made a total of 147-7 in the allotted 20 overs. In reply, Kathmandu Kings XI managed to reach 139-9 in 20 overs.

An all-round performance from Anshuman Rath, was crucial for Biratnagar Warriors to pick its fifth win of the competition.

Hong Kong’s Rath opened Warriors innings smashing 32 runs and claimed three wickets to earn the eight-run win over Kathmandu Kings XI.

Likewsie, another Hong Kongese batsman Babar Hayat made highest 67 runs that included four sixes and five boundaries for table topper while Captain Paras Khadka contributed 26 runs.

Kings XI’s Amar Routela took two wickets for 37 runs while Captain Farveez Maharoof and Sompal Kami added one wicket each for the losing side.



Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :