Press "Enter" to skip to content

Bhairahawa Gladiators enters into EPL final

KATHMANDU — Biratnagar Warriors has secured its place in the final of Everest Premiere League T-20 cricket tournament with an emphatic win by eight wickets over Bhairahawa Gladiators on Wednesday.

Hong Kong’s Babar Hayat scored 62 runs from 44 deliveries including four boundaries and five sixes to seal the win for Warriors in the first qualifier of EPL 2017.

Skipper Paras Khadka smashed four sixes in his route to unbeaten 42 runs from 24 deliveries to finish the match in 17 overs. Anshuman Rath remained not out 26 runs to his total tally for the tournament.

An 82 runs partnership between all-rounder Aarif Sheikh and Puneet Mishra rescued Bhairahawa to a respectable total of 127/8 in 20 overs.

The Gladiators skipper Vesawkar conceded 40 runs in his spell of 4 overs. Gladiators were struggling at 27/4 when Rohit Poudel was caught behind by Aasif Sheikh off Sahan Adeesha.

Earlier, Biratnagar Warriors won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Aarif Sheikh piled up 46 runs continuing from where he left in the last match with one four and three sixes including one towering six over the midwicket area.

Left arm spin all-rounder from India, Puneet Mishra, scored three fours and three sixes in the middle to power Gladiators total to 127 after being 32/4 at halfway stage.

The Sri Lankan recruit, Sahan Adeesha, picked up two wickets conceding 29 runs in his four overs for Biratnagar Warriors.

Warriors skipper Paras Khadka, Basant Regmi, and Avinash Karn also chipped in with a wicket each.

Gladiators will now face the winner of the eliminator in Thursday’s qualifier two.



Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :